Another Orkut Hoax!
I simply can’t understand how gullible people can be, and most of them are engineers (some even computer engineers) and MBAs!
I last posted about a similar orkut hoax and now I’ve received over 10 messages in the past 3 days from friends with contents as follows:
Dear user because of sudden rush of people signing upto orkut is come to an attention that we are vastly running our of resources so with in a week any one who does not receive this scrap will be deleted of our server. We know that you are still using this account We want to find out which users are actually using their orkut accounts so if you are using your then please send this scrap to every orkut user that you can if u do not pass this scrap to anyone then we will delete your account
Just follow these simple steps.
1. Click on the “Messages Tab” in your account.
2. Click on the “compose mail” option which is the last
one of the four icons you see together.
3. Select “all friends”
4. Cut and Paste this mail
5. Send it……..
Let’s look at this message.
The message states that Orkut is running out of resources, so you should send a message to prove you are active.
Have you realized that sending the message actually consumes resources?
Have you realized that if every user sends messages like this to each other, how many resources will actually be consumed?
In Feb itself Orkut posted this notice on their News Page
Is it true? Inactive accounts will be deleted? 2/16/2006
We heard there’s a rumor going around orkut that says orkut.com will delete your account for inactivity. We’ve even received this notice from someone pretending to be Orkut himself! This is not true and you can safely disregard these messages or scraps.
Please please please check if the message you are sending actually has any sense. You may be all scared that your account will be deleted, but if that is the case Google (who own Orkut) will contact you personally and not your friend via an email or scrap!!
And by sending these messages to all your friends you are just giving an open invitation to spam.
Leave a comment
Comments are closed.

its in the same league which claim hotmail wants to know the number of active users so please forward or ur account will b deactivated. another horrible one which these senseless ppl actually fwd is gates giving away his money at the rate of 20 cents per forwarded mail and some nutcase at the start claims his account got credited for a few thousands.
lol… ur post and mine look so similar… some coincidence…
take care…
Please also note that the message contains typos!
It says “running our of resources” … “with in a week” … (instead of within a week) … ” so if you are using your then ” …
Though most of these points are actually invisible to the norm.
hehe,
I can see that I am not the only one frustrated by those who send such stupid emails and messages.
i too dont understand why people just forward these hoax messages without considering whether it makes any sense.. a mere google search is enough to find the validity of these messages…
It’s called ignorance, laziness and sheer stupidity!