I have been getting warning emails about the same, and I guess there may be some amount of truth in them.

I received quite a few scraps from pals with this content. None of them know Portuguese.
The scrap was:

Opa, tudo bom? Eu criei um vídeo com uma seleção de minhas fotos novas, clica aí pra ver - http://mmgurl.com/M7U - Estão bem legais!!!

When I once tried to visit the link it asked me to download something (which I didn’t). Other time led me to a proxy server.

I wasn’t able to check if it actually was a virus, but I suggest not downloading any such file. Immediately delete the scrap if you are sure your friend doesn’t speak Portuguese, or if he/she doesn’t even know about the scrap.

I’m not sure how the scraps actually get placed. Possible computer infection? Or a problem with the Orkut server? Or is it a hoax?

Subscribe to the Feed
Liked this article? Stay in touch with us! Don't forget to Stumble It!
Grab the site feed or add to your Technorati favs.


Post Details

Post Date :
Saturday, Jul 15th, 2006 at 9:17 pm
Category :
Computers & Technology
Tags :
, ,
Do More :
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Related Posts

Some posts related to the post you have just read:

Search this site for Related Posts

Google